
Nevada Department of Taxation 
3850 Arrowhead Dr., 2nd Floor 
Carson City, NV  89706 
(775) 684-2000

For Department Use Only: 
TID:

Entered in TAS (Date & Initials):  

Amount of Fine:  1st violation $500 
 2nd violation $1,000 

   3 or more violations $5,000 
  Copy of NRS 369.630(2) mailed to establishment 

Notice of Civil Infraction pursuant to Nevada Revised Statutes § 369.630  
(Failure to comply with Alcohol Awareness Training requirements) 

(See Instructions on reverse side) 

VIOLATION 

DATE OF VIOLATION 

TIME 

Establishment Information: 

OWNER 

NAME OF 
ESTABLISHMENT (DBA) 
PHYSICAL LOCATION OF 
ESTABLISHMENT 

CITY , STATE, ZIP 

Employee Information: 

FIRST NAME MIDDLE LAST NAME 

DRIVER LICENSE/ID NO. STATE  BIRTHDATE 

RACE/ETHNICITY SEX HAIR EYES HEIGHT  WEIGHT OTHER DES. 

How was notice of violation served? 

Served Upon Owner/Manager on Duty 
Full Name of Owner/Manager on Duty 

Posted at establishment in a conspicuous place
Place where notice was posted 

Print Full Name of Officer/Department Authorized Personnel Department/Agency 

I certify or declare under the penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Nevada that there are reasonable grounds or probable cause to believe the 
above named employee violated NRS 369.630.  

Date Signature of Peace Officer or Department Authorized Personnel 

To email, save this form to your computer and email the attachment to nevadaolt@tax.state.nv.us with the subject of ‘Notice 

of Civil Infraction'.  Your email, including attachments, cannot exceed 10 MB.  
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Alcohol Awareness Training Violation Information 

Effective July 1, 2007, Nevada Revised Statutes (“NRS”) § 369.630 requires owners or operators of liquor 
establishments who hire or employ persons to sell or serve alcoholic beverages, or act as security guards at 
such establishments, to ensure such person complete a State certified Alcohol Beverage Awareness program 
and hold a valid alcohol education card. 

These provisions apply to establishments in all counties whose population is 100,000 or more (Clark and 
Washoe Counties).  An establishment is defined as a business that sells alcoholic beverages by the drink for 
consumption on the premises and businesses that sell alcoholic beverages in corked or sealed containers or 
receptacles for consumption off the premises.  These provisions do not apply to a Nevada Licensed Wholesale 
Dealer, or a private club, or other facility which is not open to the public. 

An establishment who violates any of these provisions pertaining to Alcohol Awareness Training is subject to 
an administrative fine ranging from $500 to $5,000. 

A list of approved Alcohol Awareness Training Schools can be found at http://www.cpe.state.nv.us  See copy 
of NRS 369.630 enclosed with this notice. 

HOW TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION: 

1. You will receive a bill from the Nevada Department of Taxation for the appropriate civil fine.
The civil fines are as follows:

a. $500 for the 1st violation within a 24 month period;
b. $1,000 for the 2nd violation with a 24 month period; and
c. $5,000 for the 3rd or subsequent violation within a 24 month period.

OR 

2. If you believe this violation is in error, then you can request a hearing by notifying the Department of
Taxation in writing within 45 days of the date of this violation notice.  When requesting a hearing you
will need to state the grounds upon which you seek a hearing (the reason why you believe this
violation notice is incorrect).  Include a copy of this notice with your request for hearing.

If you have further questions regarding this notice, please contact the Nevada Department of Taxation’s 
Liquor Tax Section at 775-684-2000.   
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NRS 369.630  Completion of certified program by certain employees of establishment: Duties of owner or operator of 
establishment; notice of civil infraction; payment and disposition of civil fine; denial of liability for infraction; applicability 
of provisions. 

1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 7, on and after July 1, 2007, a person who owns or operates an establishment
shall not: 

 (a) Hire a person to sell or serve alcoholic beverages or perform the duties of a security guard at the establishment unless: 
    (1) The person hired to sell or serve alcoholic beverages or perform the duties of a security guard at the establishment has 

already successfully completed a certified program and already holds a valid alcohol education card; or 
    (2) The person who owns or operates the establishment ensures that the person hired to sell or serve alcoholic beverages or 

perform the duties of a security guard at the establishment, within 30 days after the date on which he or she is hired, successfully 
completes a certified program and obtains a valid alcohol education card; or 
      (b) Continue to employ a person who was hired before that date to sell or serve alcoholic beverages or perform the duties of a 
security guard at the establishment unless: 

    (1) The person who continues to be employed to sell or serve alcoholic beverages or perform the duties of a security guard 
at the establishment has already successfully completed a certified program and already holds a valid alcohol education card; or 

    (2) The person who owns or operates the establishment ensures that the person who continues to be employed to sell or 
serve alcoholic beverages or perform the duties of a security guard at the establishment, not later than July 31, 2007, successfully 
completes a certified program and obtains a valid alcohol education card. 

2. A violation of this section is a civil infraction, and when an owner or operator of an establishment is found in violation
pursuant to subsection 3, a notice of infraction must be issued on a form prescribed by the Department, and must contain, without 
limitation, the following information: 

 (a) The location at which the violation occurred; 
 (b) The date and time of the violation; 
 (c) The name of the establishment and the owner; 
 (d) The signature of the person who issued the notice of infraction; 
 (e) A copy of this section which allegedly is being violated; 
 (f) Information which advises of the manner in which, and the time within which, the notice of infraction must be answered; and 
 (g) Any other reasonable information which is prescribed by the Department. 
3. The notice of infraction may be issued by any peace officer or by any person who is authorized by the Department to issue

such a notice. A duplicate of the notice of infraction must be served on the person to whom it is issued either in person, by providing 
the notice to the person in charge of the establishment at the time the notice of infraction is issued, or by affixing the notice to the 
establishment in a conspicuous place. 

4. The notice of infraction or a facsimile thereof must be filed with the Department and retained by the Department and is
deemed to be a public record of matters which are observed pursuant to a duty imposed by law and is prima facie evidence of the 
facts which are alleged therein. 

5. A person who responds to the notice of infraction must:
 (a) Admit the commission of the infraction by paying to the Department the appropriate civil fine: 

 (1) For the first violation within a 24-month period, $500. 
 (2) For the second violation within a 24-month period, $1,000. 
 (3) For the third and any subsequent violation within a 24-month period, $5,000. 

      (b) Deny liability for the infraction by notifying the Department and requesting a hearing in the manner indicated on the notice 
of infraction. Upon receipt of such a request, the Department shall afford to the person making the request an opportunity for a 
hearing pursuant to the provisions of NRS 233B.121. 

6. Of the money collected by the Department from a civil fine pursuant to subsection 5:
      (a) Fifty percent must be deposited with the State Treasurer for credit to the Account for Aid for Victims of Domestic Violence 
created by NRS 217.440. 
      (b) Fifty percent must be deposited in the account created in the State General Fund for the support of community juvenile 
justice programs and must be used only to enforce laws that prohibit the purchase, consumption or possession of alcoholic 
beverages by persons under the age of 21 years. 

7. The provisions of this section apply only in a jurisdiction that:
 (a) Is located in a county whose population is 100,000 or more; or 

      (b) Is located in a county whose population is less than 100,000, if the governing body of the jurisdiction has, by the affirmative 
vote of a majority of its members, agreed to be bound by the provisions of this section. 

8. As used in this section:
 (a) “Certified program” means an alcoholic beverage awareness program certified by the Commission pursuant to NRS 369.625. 

      (b) “Valid alcohol education card” means a card issued by a certified program which has been obtained or renewed within the 
immediately preceding 4 years. 

 (Added to NRS by 2005, 2683; A 2009, 478) 
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http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-233B.html%23NRS233BSec121
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-217.html%23NRS217Sec440
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-369.html%23NRS369Sec625
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Statutes/73rd/Stats200526.html%23Stats200526page2683
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Statutes/75th2009/Stats200905.html%23Stats200905page478
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